[Skip to content]

Your Borough Of Poole

Candidates Announced For 2014 European Elections

Residents across Europe will be casting their vote next month in the European Parliamentary Elections.   

Voting will take place at polling stations across the South West on Thursday 22 May for the election of six Members of European Parliament (MEPs).

Currently, the South West has three Conservative MEPs, two UKIP MEPs and one Liberal Democrat MEP.

A total of eight parties will be standing for election in 2014 with no Independents. In 2009 there were 16 parties and one Independent candidate.

Once the polls close at 10pm, ballot papers will be verified.

Due to some votes taking place across Europe on different days, counting of the votes will be held on Sunday 25 May 2014. In Poole the count will take place at the Lighthouse, Poole’s Centre for the Arts, Kingland Road, Poole.

The regional announcement of results for the South West will be held in the Committee Suite at the Civic Centre, Poole. The Declaration of the Regional Result is expected no earlier than 10pm.

If you are not registered to vote in your area you can register up until Tuesday 6 May. 

Further information on the elections, including the full Statement of Persons Nominated is available on our European Election webpage.