[Skip to content]

Your Borough Of Poole

Changes to Poole's Cabinet team

The Leader of the Council, Cllr Janet Walton, has announced changes to Borough of Poole's Cabinet team. 

Cllr Drew Mellor is joining the Cabinet as portfolio holder for Transportation, Customer Services and Public Health. Cllr Mohan Iyengar will become portfolio holder for Economy, Culture and Leisure. Cllr Xena Dion is stepping down from her current Cabinet role to prepare for her forthcoming year as the Mayor of Poole.  

The full list of Cabinet members and their portfolios are:

Janet Walton - Leader of the Council, strategic leadership of the Council including corporate and financial strategies 

May Haines - Deputy Leader of the Council, Finance, Operations and Community Engagement including Legal, Democratic and Strategy Services 

Mohan Iyengar - Economy, Culture and Leisure 

Drew Mellor – Transportation, Customer Services and Public Health 

Ian Potter - Planning and Regeneration, including Property Services 

John Rampton - Environment and Consumer Protection 

Karen Rampton - Health and Social Care, Housing and Communities 

Mike White - Children, Young People and Capital Projects 

The Cabinet is responsible for making detailed decisions on how the Council's strategies and policies are implemented and how the budget is spent.

Cllr Janet Walton, Leader of the Council, said: "I would like to welcome Cllr Iyengar and Cllr Mellor to Cabinet and look forward to working with them. 

"As well as bringing energy and enthusiasm to their new roles, they both have a great deal of knowledge and experience in business that will hugely benefit our drive to develop a more entrepreneurial approach to the way the Council works as we prepare for a future without government funding for local services.    

"The Council is very ambitious for the future of Poole and it is vital we have a strong Cabinet team with a wide range of experience and skills to achieve our priorities over the next four years. 

"I would like to thank Cllr Dion for her hard work and dedication during her time as a Cabinet member and wish her well as she prepares for her busy year as the Mayor of Poole.”​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

​​​​Cllr Mohan Iyengar said: "It is a great honour to be appointed to the Cabinet. I hope I can draw on the best things I’ve learned from years in business to help our economy forward and encourage a smarter delivery of public services. As we do this, I’ll want to protect the things that make Poole special."

Cllr Drew Mellor said: "I am proud to have been asked to join the Cabinet team in Poole and I am thoroughly looking forward to the challenge. My mix of commercial experience across a number of business sectors allied to my background as an Overview and Scrutiny Chairman both in Poole and on the Isle of Wight should stand me in good stead as we continue move the Council forward for our residents."

​Cllr Xena Dion said: "It has been a privilege to serve as a Cabinet member for four and a half years. I am very proud of what has been achieved over this time, including the improvement to our transport system through the Three Towns Travel programme, the resurrection of the Poole Chamber of Commerce and bringing the opportunity to Poole to host the internationally important European Maritime Day event."

Borough of Poole’s Overview and Scrutiny Committee structure will also change from 1 January 2016 to reflect the Council’s three themes; People, Place and Business Improvement. The new committees are:

  • People Overview and Scrutiny Committee (Health and Social Care) 
  • People Overview and Scrutiny Committee (Children and Young People) 
  • Place Overview and Scrutiny Committee 
  • Business Improvement Overview and Scrutiny Committee 
  • Overview and Scrutiny Board 
  • Call In Overview and Scrutiny Committee 

Committee chairmen will be appointed at the first meeting of the committees in 2016.